virus.png

STRUCTURE AND DEFINITION OF VIRUSES

The notion of viral disease dates back to the end of the 19th century, with the discovery of diseases transmissible by ultra-filterable agents. Viruses, initially defined by their size, are found in all animal species, in plants (including algae and fungi), in bacteria (bacteriophages).

The main characteristic of viruses, and to which we owe their discovery, is their ability to pass filters impermeable to bacteria. While the largest viruses infecting humans, the Poxviridae, are between 250 and 300 nm in size, the smaller ones, Parvoviridae, are only 20nm.


Two hundred species are pathogenic in humans. The majority of viral diseases are benign (eg: rhinitis).  Others are quite serious (eg: encephalitis, AIDS, hepatitis, haemorrhagic fevers). Finally, certain viruses play a role in the development of malignant tumors and cancers.

intestin.png
duplication.png
adn.png

WHAT IS A VIRUS?

It was in 1953 that André LWOFF stated the three fundamental characteristics that make viruses original entities:

1 /
  viruses contain only one type of nucleic acid

(DNA or RNA) which constitutes the viral genome.

2 /
  viruses reproduce from their genetic material and by replication.

 

 



3 /  viruses are endowed with absolute intracellular parasitism.



In appearances of very rudimentary units, viruses constitute a very elaborate form of parasitism. They can only reproduce in living cells; having no energy system, they divert the cellular machinery for their own benefit to replicate and ensure their sustainability. They are, in a way, extremely simple structures, all of whose elements protect a few small pieces of genetic code with the aim of infiltrating a cell in order to parasitize it, then destroy it.

Ultimately, with the help of a few genes, viruses can alter and modify the programs of intracellular functions to their advantage, with the final objective of transforming the infected organism into a contaminating agent, capable of spreading the infection and ensuring survival of the virus.

 

RESPIRATORY INFECTION
 

Probably the most common viral infections are infections

upper respiratory tract. Respiratory infections are

particularly likely to cause severe symptoms in the

infants, the elderly and patients with impaired

cardiac or pulmonary.

Several coronaviruses have been identified that cause respiratory infection

which can be serious. In 2002 and 2003, an outbreak of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) caused a number of deaths, mainly in China and Hong Kong. In 2012, a new coronavirus, the Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV), which appeared in Saudi Arabia, can cause severe and sometimes fatal acute respiratory illness. In 2019, another coronavirus (SARS-CoV2) that can cause acute, sometimes fatal respiratory illness emerged in Wuhan, China and is currently spreading around the world.

Respiratory viruses are usually transmitted directly from person to person through contact with infected respiratory droplets.

GASTROINTESTINAL INFECTIONS

The  gastroenteritis  is usually caused by viruses and transmitted by the human-to-human fecal route.

The predominantly affected age group depends on the virus:

  • Rotavirus: children

  • Norovirus: children and adults

  • Astrovirus: usually infants and young children

  • Adenovirus 40 and 41: infants

  • Coronavirus-like agents: infants

Local epidemics can occur in children, especially during the cold months.

The main symptoms are vomiting and diarrhea.

No specific treatment is recommended, but supportive treatment, especially rehydration, is important.

EXANTHEMATIC INFECTIONS

 

Some viruses only cause skin lesions (as in molluscum contagiosum and warts); others also cause systemic manifestations or lesions elsewhere in the body.

Transmission is usually human-to-human; the alphavirus has a mosquito vector.

HEPATIC INFECTIONS

At least 5 specific viruses (hepatitis A, B, C, D and E viruses) can cause hepatitis; each causes a specific type of hepatitis. The hepatitis D virus can only be infectious in the presence of the hepatitis B virus. Transmission is human-to-human through contact with infected blood or body fluids or by the fecal-oral route in the case of hepatitis A and E (genotypes 1 and 2).

Other viruses can affect the liver as part of the disease process. Common examples are cytomegalovirus, Epstein-Barr virus, and yellow fever virus. Echoviruses, coxsackie viruses, herpes simplex, measles, rubella and chickenpox are less common examples.

NEUROLOGICAL INFECTIONS

Most cases of encephalitis are caused by viruses. These viruses are

many are transmitted to humans by blood-sucking arthropods,

mainly mosquitoes and ticks; these viruses are called arboviruses 

(arthropod viruses). For these infections, prevention involves avoiding

Mosquito bites and tick bites.

 

HEMORRHAGIC FEVER

Some viruses cause fever and a tendency to bleed (arboviruses, arenaviroses and  Filoviruses.) Transmission may involve mosquitoes, ticks, or contact with infected animals (eg, rodents, monkeys, bats) and people. Prevention consists of avoiding the means of transmission. *

SKIN OR MUCOUS INFECTIONS

Mucosal infections are the most common type of herpes simplex virus infection. The human papillomavirus induces warts; some subtypes cause cervical cancers, other anogenital cancers, and oropharyngeal cancers. Transmission is human-to-human.

SYSTEMIC DISEASES

Enteroviruses, which include coxsackie and echo viruses, can cause a variety of multisystem syndromes, as is the case with cytomegalovirus 

Transmission occurs by the fecal-oral route.

 

NON-SPECIFIC FEBRILE DISEASES

Some viruses cause nonspecific symptoms, including fever, feeling sick, headache, and myalgia. Transmission is usually carried out by an insect vector or arthropod. (See also Overview of arboviruses, arenaviroses and filoviruses.)

Rift Valley fever rarely progresses to eye disorders, meningoencephalitis, or a hemorrhagic form (which has a 50% mortality).

some plants against infections: 

- Cypress is a powerful antiviral. It acts as a shield for the cells by preventing viruses from sticking to them, and then it kills them. It is particularly recommended against influenza, but also against herpes. As a preventive or curative treatment, it is consumed in the form of fresh plants.

-  Ginseng  This plant, native to China, is consumed in the form of an infusion to fight against fatigue. But it is also very effective in helping the immune system fight against winter illness.

-  Elderberry In the form of ampoules or tablets, elderberry is consumed throughout the winter to fight against a host of small diseases. Colds, flu, sinusitis or bronchitis do not resist the power of this plant.

-  Thyme Widely used in Europe, and in particular in the Mediterranean, in cooking, thyme is also a health ally. It is because it is particularly rich in vitamin A that thyme is an asset for the immune system. Associated with honey, and consumed in the form of an infusion, thyme will be your best friend in case of colds.

-  The tea tree has always been used by the Aborigines of Australia. Its essential oil will allow you to fight effectively against all forms of bacterial and viral infections.

-  Black radish , Vitamin C is its secret. It is thanks to this that it can fight against fatigue and therefore strengthen your immune system. As a little extra, black radish also helps your skin to maintain good health and fights against the aging of your cells.

-  Blackcurrant Like black radish, is a real mine of vitamin C. Thanks to this, blackcurrant has antioxidant properties that will protect your white blood cells, the very ones that must be efficient to fight against diseases of the winter.

-  Turmeric has been talked about a lot in recent years. And for good reason, this plant, the root of which is consumed, is truly miraculous if used with knowledge. Many studies have shown that turmeric can fight off many bacteria. But be careful not to overdo it, it should be consumed sparingly.

-  Guarana  has toning virtues recognized for a long time. This plant native to Brazil will be your ally if you suffer from temporary fatigue. It is also rich in vitamins, potassium, magnesium, iron and phosphorus, all virtues that will make it a good stimulant for your immune system.

- Cat's claw , also called "Liana of Peru", is a plant whose bark is consumed, in the form of infusion or capsules, and is recognized for its antiviral and anti-inflammatory properties. It is also used to fight cancer.

poumons.png
cerveau (1).png

virus.png

STRUCTURE ET DEFINITION DES VIRUS

La notion de maladie virale remonte à la fin du XIX ème siècle, avec la mise en évidence d’affections transmissibles par des agents ultra-filtrables. Les virus, initialement définis par leur taille, sont retrouvés chez toutes les espèces animales, chez les végétaux (y compris les algues et les champignons), chez les bactéries (bactériophages).

La caractéristique principale des virus, et à laquelle on doit leur découverte, est leur capacité à traverser des filtres imperméables aux bactéries. Alors que les plus gros virus infectant l’homme, les Poxviridae, ont une taille entre 250 et 300 nm, les plus petits, Parvoviridae, n’ont que 20nm.


Deux cents espèces sont pathogènes chez l’homme. La majorité des maladies virales sont bénignes (ex : rhinites).  D’autres présentent une gravité certaine (ex : encéphalites, SIDA, hépatites, fièvres hémorragiques). Enfin certains virus jouent un rôle dans le développement de tumeurs malignes et de cancers.

intestin.png
duplication.png
adn.png

QU'EST-CE QU'UN VIRUS ?

C’est en 1953 que André LWOFF a énoncé les trois caractères fondamentaux faisant des virus des entités originales :

1/  les virus ne contiennent qu’un seul type d’acide nucléique

(ADN ou ARN) qui constitue le génome viral.

2/  les virus se reproduisent à partir de leur matériel génétique et par réplication.

 

 



3/  les virus sont doués de parasitisme intracellulaire absolu.



Sous des aspects d’unités très rudimentaires, les virus constituent une forme très élaborée de parasitisme. Ils ne peuvent se reproduire qu’au sein de cellules vivantes ; ne possédant aucun système d’énergie, ils détournent la machinerie cellulaire à leur profit pour se répliquer et assurer leur pérennité. Ils constituent en quelque sorte des structures extrêmement simples dont l’ensemble des éléments protège quelques petits bouts de code génétique ayant pour objectifs de s’infiltrer dans une cellule pour la parasiter, puis la détruire.

En définitive, à l’aide de quelques gènes, les virus peuvent altérer et modifier les programmes de fonctions intracellulaires à leur profit, avec pour objectif final de transformer l’organisme infecté en agent contaminant, capable de propager l’infection et d’assurer la survie du virus.

 

INFECTION RESPIRATOIRES
 

Les infections virales les plus fréquentes sont probablement les infections

des voies respiratoires supérieures. Les infections respiratoires sont

particulièrement susceptibles de provoquer des symptômes graves chez le

nourrisson, les personnes âgées et les patients qui présentent des troubles

cardiaques ou pulmonaires.

Plusieurs coronavirus ont été identifiés qui provoquent une infection respiratoire

qui peut être grave. En 2002 et 2003, une épidémie de syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS) a causé un certain nombre de décès, principalement en Chine et à Hong Kong. En 2012, un nouveau coronavirus, le Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV), apparu en Arabie Saoudite, peut causer une maladie respiratoire aiguë sévère et parfois mortelle. En 2019, un autre coronavirus (SARS-CoV2) qui peut provoquer une maladie respiratoire aiguë, parfois mortelle a émergé à Wuhan, en Chine et s'étend actuellement dans le monde entier.

Les virus respiratoires se transmettent généralement directement d'un individu à l'autre par contact avec les gouttelettes respiratoires infectées.

INFECTIONS GASTRO-INTESTINALES

La gastro-entérite est habituellement provoquée par des virus et transmise par la voie orofécale interhumaine.

La classe d'âge principalement touchée dépend du virus:

  • Rotavirus: enfants

  • Norovirus: enfants et adultes

  • Astrovirus: habituellement nourrissons et jeunes enfants

  • Adénovirus 40 et 41: nourrissons

  • Agents semblables au coronavirus: nourrissons

Des épidémies locales peuvent survenir chez l'enfant, durant les mois froids en particulier.

Les principaux symptômes sont les vomissements et la diarrhée.

Aucun traitement spécifique n'est recommandé, mais le traitement de support, en particulier la réhydratation, est important.

INFECTIONS EXANTHEMATEUSES

 

Certains virus ne provoquent que des lésions cutanées (comme dans le molluscum contagiosum et les verrues); d'autres provoquent également des manifestations systémiques ou des lésions ailleurs dans le corps.

La transmission est habituellement interhumaine; l’alphavirus a un moustique vecteur.

INFECTIONS HEPATIQUES

Au moins 5 virus spécifiques (virus de l’hépatite A, B, C, D et E) peuvent provoquer une hépatite ; chacun provoque un type d’hépatite spécifique. Le virus de l'hépatite D ne peut être infectant qu'en présence du virus de l'hépatite B. La transmission est interhumaine par contact avec du sang infecté ou des sécrétions corporelles ou par la voie orofécale dans le cas de l'hépatite A et E (génotypes 1 et 2).

D'autres virus peuvent affecter le foie faisant partie du processus de la maladie. Le cytomégalovirus , le virus Epstein-Barr et le virus de la fièvre jaune sont des exemples courants. Les échovirus, les virus coxsackie, herpes simplex , de la rougeole , de la rubéole et la varicelle sont des exemples moins courants.

INFECTIONS NEUROLOGIQUES

La plupart des cas d’encéphalite sont provoqués par les virus. Ces virus sont

nombreux à être transmis aux humains par les arthropodes hématophages,

essentiellement les moustiques et les tiques; ces virus sont appelés arbovirus 

(arthropodes virus). Pour ces infections, la prévention consiste à éviter les

piqûres des moustiques et les morsures de tiques.

 

FIEVRES HEMORRAGIQUES

Certains virus provoquent de la fièvre et une tendance aux saignements.( arboviroses, arénaviroses et  filoviroses.) La transmission peut impliquer des moustiques, tiques ou un contact avec des animaux infectés (p. ex., des rongeurs, des singes, des chauves-souris) et des personnes. La prévention consiste à éviter les moyens de transmission.*

INFECTIONS CUTANEES OU DES MUQUEUSES

Les infections cutanéo-muqueuses sont le type le plus fréquent d'infection à virus herpes simplex . Le papillomavirus humain induit les verrues ; certains sous-types provoquent des cancers du col utérin , d'autres cancers anogénitaux et des cancers oropharyngés. La transmission est interhumaine.

MALADIES SYSTEMIQUES

Les entérovirus , qui comprennent les virus coxsackie et écho, peuvent provoquer des syndromes multisystémiques divers, comme c’est le cas avec le cytomégalovirus 

La transmission se fait par voie orofécale.

 

MALADIES FEBRILE NON SPECIFIQUES

Certains virus sont responsables de symptômes non spécifiques, dont fièvre, sensation de malaise, céphalée et myalgies. La transmission est habituellement effectuée par un insecte vecteur ou arthropode. (Voir aussi Revue générale des arboviroses, des arénaviroses et des filoviroses .)

La fièvre de la vallée du Rift évolue rarement vers des troubles oculaires, une méningo-encéphalite ou une forme hémorragique (qui a une mortalité de 50%).

quelques plantes contre les infections: 

- Le cyprès est puissant antiviral. Il agit comme un bouclier pour les cellules en empêchant les virus de s'y coller, puis il les tue. Il est particulièrement recommandé contre la grippe, mais aussi contre l'herpès. En traitement préventif ou curatif, il se consomme sous la forme de plantes fraîches.

Le ginseng Cette plante originaire de Chine est consommée, sous forme d'infusion, pour lutter contre la fatigue. Mais elle est également très efficace pour aider le système immunitaire à lutter contre une maladie hivernale

- Le sureau Sous forme d'ampoules ou de comprimés, le sureau se consomme tout l'hiver pour lutter contre une foule de petites maladies. Rhumes, grippes, sinusites ou bronchites ne résistent pas au pouvoir de cette plante.

Le thym Très utilisé en Europe, et notamment en Méditerranée, en cuisine, le thym est également un allié santé. C'est parce qu'il est, notamment, riche en vitamine A que le thym est un atout pour le système immunitaire. Associé au miel, et consommé sous forme d'infusion, le thym sera votre meilleur ami en cas de rhume.

L'arbre à thé est utilisé depuis toujours par les Aborigènes d'Australie. Son huile essentielle vous permettra de lutter efficacement contre toutes formes d'infections bactériennes et virales.

Le radis noir, La vitamine C est sont secret. C'est grâce à celle-ci qu'il peut lutter contre la fatigue et donc renforcer votre système immunitaire. Petit plus non-négligeable, le radis noir aide également à la bonne santé de votre peau et lutte contre le vieillissement de vos cellules.

Le cassis Tout comme le radis noir, est une véritable mine de vitamine C. Grâce à celle-ci, le cassis a des vertus antioxydantes qui protégeront vos globules blancs, ceux-là mêmes qui devront être performants pour lutter contre les maladies de l'hiver.

- Le curcuma a beaucoup fait parler de lui ces dernières années. Et pour cause, cette plante, dont on consomme la racine, est véritablement miraculeuse si elle est utilisée avec connaissance. De nombreuses études ont prouvé que le curcuma pouvait combattre de nombreuses bactéries. Mais attention à ne pas en abuser, il doit être consommé avec parcimonie.

Le guarana possède des vertus tonifiantes reconnues depuis longtemps. Cette plante originaire du Brésil sera votre allié si vous souffrez d'une fatigue passagère. Il est également riche en vitamines, en potassium, en magnésium, en fer et en phosphore, autant de vertus qui en feront un bon stimulant pour votre système immunitaire.

- La griffe de chat, aussi appelé « Liane du Pérou », est une plantes dont on consomme l'écorce, sous forme d'infusion ou de capsules, et est reconnue pour ses propriétés antivirales et anti-inflammatoires. Elle est également utilisée pour lutter contre le cancer.

poumons.png
cerveau (1).png